top of page
Oben

Activities
LOCAL HIGHLIGHTS

Kustavin Savipaja - Artisian Craft Yard

Kustavin Savipaja, Kustavis Handicrafts Farm, is a family business on the main island of Kustavis (Kivimaa) that has been making all its production entirely by hand since 1975. You can reach the workshops with shops by taking the Lossi over to Kustavi village and following the main road to Iniöntie 411 b. It's worth watching the craftsmen (glaziers, blacksmiths, potters, silver jewellery, wool and handicrafts, textiles, etc.) at work and discovering a souvenir to take home. The entire site is located on a historic farm. It is very cozy and there is a nice café with delicious Munkis (sweet yeast doughnuts), snacks and the option of Lounas at lunchtime.

www.kustavinsavipaja.fi

Bildschirmfoto 2023-08-04 um 11.01.03.png
Savipaja.png
Kustavin Saaristolaismuseo -Archipelago museum

The island museum "Kustavi Archipelago Museum"/ KUSTAVIN SAARISTOLAISMUSEO on our island of Vartsala gives an insight into the history and culture of the islanders and is easily accessible by bike. You can find it at Vartsalantie 256 in Etelä-Vartsala about 3.5 km from the lodge.

Opening times are:

• Sunday 18.6.–27.8. from 12-16

• Saturday 24.6.–29.7. from 12-16

• from Tuesday to Friday 28.6.–29.7. from 11-17

• Midsummer 23.6. from 10-14. ​

 

kustavi.fi

Suvitori - Village market

The small village market Suvitori takes place in the main town of Kustavi on Wednesdays to Saturdays from June to August from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. At the market of the same name, like our daughter, coffee, pancakes, handicrafts and nice people invite you to stop by and do a little round. Just take the Lossi to the other side and get a taste of village life. Sometimes there is more going on, sometimes less.

Bildschirmfoto 2023-08-04 um 10.59.26.png
Seeschwalbe_02.png
Vuosnainen Nature trail

Stunning beautiful is our favorite nature trail along the granite coast of Vuosnainen. If you want to walk along the Baltic Sea over rocks and through dreamlike island forest and are looking for a wide view over the sea, then this approx. 2 km long circular route through nature is just right for you. There is also the opportunity to swim "wildly" (caution! Rocks are slippery!). Drive the island road 4.5 km to Vuosnainen. The entrance to the beautiful nature trail is to the left of Restaurant Spauna.

retkipaikka.fi

Hilappa Lake & Bathingspot

Very close to the lodge (approx. 6 min by bike) is the beautiful Hilappa Lake (Hilappajärvi). The local association of our island has set up a bathing area with a small sandy beach, bathing jetty, changing room, toilet and barbecue area where you can go swimming and cool off (also suitable for small children). The view over the lake is beautiful and with a bit of luck you can see the osprey or a black-throated diver fishing. We spent many an evening there with the longing song of the black-throated diver, kindled a fire at the barbecue area or listened intently to an approaching thunderstorm. Follow the Inselstrasse towards Vuosnainen. After 2.5 km you will find a parking lot on the left side of the road next to the lake. The bathing place is in the immediate vicinity.

Hilapa.JPG
Bildschirmfoto 2023-08-04 um 11.48.13.png
Klipunkari Bathingspot

Our favorite seaside bathing spot, Klipunkarin uimaranta/ Klipunkari bathing spot (Klipunkarintie 38, 23360 Kustavi), is not far from the village of Kustavi, on the main island of the municipality, Kivimaa. The child-friendly sandy and rocky beach has changing rooms, showers, the community's village sauna*, a bathing jetty with a diving board, parking spaces and a toilet. After the trip on the Lossi (yellow ferry) you cycle to the crossroads behind the church at the Sale supermarket. There you turn left and follow the main road. On the left side you will find a small blue sign to the bathing area. Follow the sign to Klipunkari Beach. Starting at the Lossi (the yellow ferry) through the village up to the beach, is 2.5 km.

*Klipunkarin Sauna

Klipunkari Sauna is the village sauna of Kustavi Municipality and is heated all year round on Mondays and Thursdays from 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. and on Saturdays from 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. This is where the villagers and one or two tourists meet to enjoy a sauna bath together. To cool down, jump into the Baltic Sea. In winter, winter swimming and diving into the ice hole are celebrated here. The changing and shower rooms are open daily from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. The sauna is free and sure to be an experience. Don't forget your bathing suit or swimming trunks, because nobody goes into the sauna naked here.

Klipunkari_Sauna.png
Esel_Rahi.png
Animal farm in Rahi

A relaxed, clean and child-friendly small animal farm in Kustavi (Rahintie 561, Kustavi). Two hundred animals live on the farm, from cows and donkeys to snakes and various lizards. In summer, a small café also opens during the opening hours of the farm. There is also the possibility of barbecuing in the yard. So, pack some food to grill and get to the gas grill.

From the beginning of May through the summer, open daily from 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Jeremias Caves

Near the Lossi is a huge natural rock formation known as the Jeremian Caves. Jeremiah's Caves include sheer rock cliffs and deep unmarked rills and crevasses, so walking in the area can be dangerous, especially in slippery weather. As the name suggests, there are several caves of different sizes in the natural rock formation, however the cave locations are not marked. One finds the way to the rock formation roughly in the middle between the Lossi and the entrance to the village. There is a parking lot opposite the path to the rocks. The Jeremiah Caves are located in a nature reserve. Please respect nature and stay on the marked trails.

Jeremia_Luolat.jpg
Jurmo_Åland.png
Åland-Islands:
Jurmo, Åva & Brandö

If you follow the Inselstrasse westwards from the Lossi, it ends in Vuosnainen, a small picturesque harbour. From there, the MS Ådan ferry departs daily for the neighboring Swedish-speaking Åland Islands. It is worth visiting the most remote islands of the Åland archipelago, the islands of Åva, Brändö and Jurmo across the way. Jurmo has about 20 residents. There is a nice island café, a youth hostel, a beautiful swimming area with crystal clear water, great archipelago landscapes and a 3-4 km long nature trail to explore

. ​

jurmo.ax               alandstrafiken.ax

bottom of page

top of page
Oben

LOKALE HIGHLIGHTS

Kustavin Savipaja - Kunsthandwerk Hof

Kustavin Savipaja, Kustavis Kunsthandwerk-Hof, ist ein Familienunternehmen auf der Hauptinsel Kustavis (Kivimaa), das seit 1975 ihre gesamte Produktion vollständig von Hand herstellt. Du erreichst die Werkstätten mit Lädchen, indem du die Lossi hinüber nach Kustavi-Dorf nimmst und der Hauptstraße zum Iniöntie  411 b folgst. Es lohnt sich, den Handwerkern (Glaserei, Schmiede, Töpferei, Silberschmuckwerkstatt, Woll- und Handarbeiten, Textilien ect.) bei der Arbeit zuzuschauen und ein Souvenir für zu Hause zu entdecken. Das gesamte Gelände liegt auf einem historischen Bauernhof. Es ist sehr gemütlich und es gibt ein schönes Café mit leckeren Munkis (süße Hefekringel), Snacks und mittags der Möglichkeit zum Lounas.

www.kustavinsavipaja.fi

Bildschirmfoto 2023-08-04 um 11.01.03.png
Savipaja.png
Kustavin Saaristolaismuseo - Kustavis Inselmuseum

Das Inselmuseum „Kustavi Archipelago Museum“/ KUSTAVIN SAARISTOLAISMUSEO auf unserer Insel Vartsala vermittelt einen Einblick in die Geschichte und Kultur der Inselbewohner und ist gut mit dem Fahrrad erreichbar. Du findest es in der Vartsalantie 256 in Etelä-Vartsala etwa 3,5 km von der Lodge entfernt.

Öffnungszeiten sind:

 

• Sonntag 18.6.–27.8. von 12–16

• Samstag 24.6.–29.7. von 12–16

• von Dienstag bis Freitag 28.6.–29.7. von 11–17

• Mittsommer 23.6. von 10–14.

kustavi.fi

Suvitori - Suvimarkt

Der kleine Dorfmarkt Suvitori findet im Hauptort Kustavi mittwochs bis samstags von Juni bis August von 10 bis 13 Uhr statt. Auf dem gleichnahmigen Markt, wie unsere Tochter, laden Kaffe, Pfannkuchen, Handarbeiten und nette Leute dazu ein vorbeizuschauen und eine kleinen Runde zu drehen. Nimm einfach die Lossi auf die andere Seite und schnuppere Dorfleben. Manchmal ist mehr los, manchmal weniger.

Bildschirmfoto 2023-08-04 um 10.59.26.png
Seeschwalbe_02.png
Vuosnainen Naturpfad

Klein, abder fein ist unser liebster Naturpfad entlang der Granitfelsenküste von Vuosnainen. Wenn du entlang der Ostsee über Felsen und durch traumhaften Inselwald hindurch spazieren möchtest und den weiten Blick über das Meer suchst, dann ist dieser ca.2 km lange Rundweg durch die Natur genau das Richtige für dich. Zudem gibt es die Möglickeit „wild" zu schwimmen (Achtung! Felsen sind rutschig!). Fahre die Inselstrasse 4,5 km nach Vuosnainen. Der Einstieg zum herrlichen Naturpfad befindet sich links vom Restaurant Spauna.

 

retkipaikka.fi

Hilappa See & Badestelle

Ganz in der Nähe der Lodge (ca. 6 Min. mit dem Fahrrad) liegt der schöne Hilappa-See (Hilappajärvi). Der Ortsverein unserer Insel hat dort eine Badestelle mit kleinem Sandstrand, Badesteg, Umkleidekabine, Toilette und Grillplatz eingerichtet, an der du schwimmen gehen und dich abkühlen kannst (Auch für kleine Kinder geeignet). Der Blick über den See ist wunderschön und mit etwas Glück kannst du dem Fischadler oder einem Prachttaucher beim Fischen zusehen. Wir haben dort so manche Abende beim sehnsuchtsvollen Gesang des Prachttauchers verbracht, ein Feuer an der Grillstelle entfacht oder gespannt einem nahenden Gewitter gelauscht. Folge der Inselstrasse Richtung Vuosnainen. Nach 2,5 km findest du auf der linken Straßenseite einen Parkplatz direkt neben dem See. Der Badeplatz liegt in unmittelbarer Nähe.

Hilapa.JPG
Bildschirmfoto 2023-08-04 um 11.48.13.png
Klipunkari Badeplatz

Unser Lieblingsbadeplatz am Meer, Klipunkarin uimaranta/ Klipunkari Badeplatz (Klipunkarintie 38, 23360 Kustavi), liegt unweit des Dorfes Kustavi, auf der Hauptinsel der Gemeinde, Kivimaa. Am kinderfreundlichen Sand- und Felsstrand gibt es Umkleidekabinen, Duschen, die Dorfsauna* der Gemeinde, einen Badesteg mit Sprungbrett, Parkplätze und eine Toilette. Nach der Fahrt mit der Lossi (gelbe Fähre) radelst du bis zur Kreuzung hinter der Kirche am Sale-Supermarkt. Dort biegst du links ab und folgst der Hauptstraße. Auf der linken Seite findest du dann ein kleines blaues Schild zur Badestelle. Folge dem Schild bis zum Klipunkari-Strand. Von der Lossi (der gelben Fähre) durch das Dorf bis zum Strand, sind es 2,5 km.

*Klipunkarin Sauna

Die Sauna von Klipunkari ist die Dorfsauna der Gemeinde Kustavi und das ganze Jahr über montags und donnerstags von 16:00 bis 21:00 Uhr und samstags von 14:00 bis 18:00 Uhr beheizt. Hier treffen sich die DorfbewohnerInnen und auch der/ die ein oder andere TouristIn, um gemeinsam ein Saunabaden zu genießen. Zur Abkühlung folgt der Sprung in die Ostsee. Im Winter zelebriert man hier das Winterschwimmen und das Eintauchen ins Eisloch.
Die Umkleide- und Duschräume sind täglich von 6.00 bis 21.00 Uhr geöffnet. Die Sauna ist kostenlos und sicher ein Erlebnis. Badeanzug oder Badehose nicht vergessen, denn hier geht niemand nackt in die Sauna.

Klipunkari_Sauna.png
Esel_Rahi.png
Kleintierhof in Rahi

Ein entspannter, sauberer und kinderfreundlicher Kleintierhof in Kustavi (Rahintie 561, Kustavi). Auf dem Hof ​​leben zweihundert Tiere, von Kühen und Eseln bis hin zu Schlangen und verschiedenen Eidechsen. Im Sommer öffnet während der Hoföffnungszeiten auch ein kleines Café. Auf dem Hof besteht auch die Möglichkeit zu Grillen. Also, pack etwas Grillgut ein und ran an den Gasgrill.

Ab Anfang Mai, den Sommer hindurch, täglich von 12:00 bis 16:00 Uhr geöffnet.

Jeremias Höhlen

In der Nähe der Lossi befindet sich eine riesige Natursteinformation, die als Jeremiaan-Höhlen bekannt ist.
Zu den Jeremias-Höhlen gehören senkrechte Felsklippen und tiefe, nicht markierte Rillen und Spalten, sodass das Gehen in der Gegend gefährlich sein kann, insbesondere bei rutschigem Wetter. Wie der Name schon sagt, gibt es in der natürlichen Felsformation mehrere Höhlen unterschiedlicher Größe, die Höhlenstandorte sind jedoch nicht markiert. Man findet den Weg zu der Felsformation ungefähr in der Mitte zwischen der Lossi und dem Dorfeingang. Gegenüber dem Weg zu den Felsen befindet sich ein Parkplatz. Die Jeremias-Höhlen liegen in einem Naturschutzgebiet. Bitte respektiere die Natur und bleibe auf den markierten Wegen.

Jeremia_Luolat.jpg
Jurmo_Åland.png
Åland-Inseln:
Jurmo, Åva & Brandö

Folgtst du der Inselstrasse von der Lossi aus Richtung Westen, endet sie in Vuosnainen, einem kleinen pitoresken Hafen. Von dort legt die Fähre MS Ådan täglich zu den benachbarten schwedischsprachigen Åland-Inseln ab. Es lohnt sich, die abgelegensten Inseln des Åland-Archipels, die Inseln Åva, Brändö und das gegenüberliegende Jurmo zu besuchen. Jurmo hat ca. 20 Einwohner. Dort gibt es ein nettes Inselcafé, eine Jugendherberge, einen schönen Badeplatz mit kristallklarem Wasser, tolle Schärenlandschaften und einen etwa 3-4 km langen Naturpfad, den es zu entdecken gilt.

jurmo.ax          alandstrafiken.ax

bottom of page